Massimo Inguscio

Full Professor of Physics at University Campus Bio-Medico (Rome).

Degree in Physics in Pisa in 1972 and Perfezionamento (PhD) at Scuola Normale Superiore in Pisa in 1976. Since 1987 he has been Full Professor of Structure of Matter, Atomic Physics and Optics at University of Naples (until 1990) and University of Florence (from 1990 to 2019). Director of the European Laboratory for Nonlinear Spectroscopy (LENS), Director of Department for the National Research Council (CNR), President of the Italian National Institute for Metrological Research (INRIM), President of CNR and President of the Council of the Presidents of Italian Public Research Bodies.

He has been visiting scientist at NBS/NIST (USA) and Institut d'Optique (France). He received several international prizes and awards, including: "Enrico Fermi" prize (Società Italiana di Fisica), Grand Prix Scientifique (Institut de France), "Herbert Walther" prize (DPG & Optical Society of America), Alexander von Humboldt senior award, EPS Vladilen Letokhov Medal, Matteucci Medal from the Italian National Academy of Sciences.

His research activity is in the field of experimental physics, specifically: atomic, molecular and optical physics; classical and quantum optics; light-matter interaction; spectroscopy; metrology; laser cooling; quantum simulation with ultracold quantum gases; development of spectroscopic and metrological instrumentation for physics and chemistry; interdisciplinary studies. He is author of more than 300 articles on books and international journals, and author/editor of more than 10 books. He has coordinated several research projects funded at the national and European level. He has been awarded with an Advanced Grant from the European Research Council (ERC).

Fellow of the Optical Society of America and of the American Physical Society, he is Fellow of Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Fellow of Accademia delle Scienze (Torino), Cavaliere di Gran Croce dell'Ordine al Merito della Repubblica Italiana and Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur of the French Republic.